Chrysler 300 forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
23,436 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a couple scratches on the car now..from some F*****s. It isn't through the paint...but I think they are in the clearcoat pretty good.

I have tried the Meguirs ScratchX and it didn't do crap. So, I'm thinking that the scratches are permanent or not able to be made a little better without just repainting.

·
Premium Member
9,349 Posts
Sorry to hear this Bro. As far as I can tell all the scratch fixers are garbage.

Hope you catch the little ****ers and string them up by their balls.

·
Registered
118 Posts
did you put alot of elbow grease behing that scratch-x? because i had some huge scratches and it worked fine for me good luck though

·
Premium Member
8,238 Posts
I am no expert so here goes.In fact this was the first time I tried this but have seen it done many times.

I had a scratch on my drivers side fender. I though that I would be able to touch up with original color from those pens you get at dealer and then use my PC and knock it down, WRONG !!
I thought it was through the clear also. I had a card from this guy that did touch up at the dealers. These body guys that go from dealer to dealer. Anyway I explained the F up and he sent me to one of his friends. All he did was color sand the scratch and knock it down and then buff back to Black. It wasn't through the clear just looked like it was (lucky).Turned out fine.

So I had a few rock nicks on the hood so I put a dab of paint in nick thinking since it was so small the PC well work, no such luck.

Went to a auto body supply shop to get some sand paper to duplicate the body guys sanding again. Mean while they say on no that won't work etc.. SO they say ask this guy he is a painter. He comes out and looks and says who did this with the blob on the nick ? Well I did. He says that's how you do it now give it a few days try and then go easy and all should me fine....